Writing Fat Characters

Why are we ”fat shaming” our fictional characters? Is the demand of being skinny and successful really so strong that we shy away from writing fat characters that are not just the bullied supporting character? Is there really not a market for the fat (but not always the funny) character that can find love, that in turn is not hopeless?
Is the power of our fat shaming society so strong that it seeps into the imagination of our writers??

Sarah Hollowell

This is a lot funnier if you know YA cover trends. This is what your headless YA heroine could look like.

I’ve been reading and writing for as long as I can remember, and I’ve been significantly overweight for just as long. I have always been the fat kid, and you can bet that caused some baggage. I had trouble fitting in desks. The idea of going on an airplane terrified me simply because of the seat size. I could never find cute clothes in my style that also fit. I got teased. For most of my life, I’ve heard over and over again that most of America is overweight – so where were they? Why was I the only one in almost all of my classes?

What’s a ten or thirteen or seventeen-year-old bookworm to do but escape into books? Books, after all, are a refuge. They take you into other worlds where anything is possible. You could captain a…

View original post 1 566 fler ord

Kommentera

